Urve Manuel, By a Thread

 Urve Manuel, By a Thread

  1. Tell us about the salmon artwork you have in the Salmon Run Project: The Exhibition.
    By a Thread is a sculpture made of glass, wood, and twine. I chose to use the pate de verre technique with the glass to give the salmon a gritty and fragile appearance  at the same time; salmon are dependent on the cleanliness of the fresh and ocean waters they occupy, and as such are very fragile creatures, subject to our treatment of these waters. They are also very hardy animals, overcoming many tremendous obstacles in their drive to carry on the species.
  2. What made you want to submit a proposal for the Salmon Run Project?
    I wanted to try a new format of presenting my glass work, and wanted  to meet the challenge of creating such a large three-dimensional object out of glass.
  3. How and when did you become interested in creating art?
    I have been drawing and painting and creating since I was a child; my parents encouraged music and creativity. We grew up without a television, which in my time, made a huge difference, I think, on my outlook on life.
  4. What advice would you give young people who want to become artists?
    Go for it! If you have to work a few jobs in order to sustain your art practice, do it.
  5. What do you currently have lined up in terms of artistic opportunities? For people interested in finding more of your artwork, do you have a website, blog, Twitter account or gallery?
    I just completed the installation of a large work, Salmon Run, and it is on display at the Grenfell campus Fine Art Gallery in Corner Brook, NL. I also just received a grant to begin a fresh project which will also become a ‘massive’ installation of glass and metal. Please visit www.astonesthrowglass.ca and www.astonesthrowglass.blogspot.com for a brief glimpse into my life.
Leave a Reply

