Jacqueline James, Untitled

Jacqueline James, Untitled, oil on canvas, 63.5 x 63.5 cm, NFS 

1. Tell us about the artwork you have in the VAM 2011 Juried Show. 

The inspiration behind my painting is a photograph I took last year on a trip to Jamaica. The background behind the subject (my sister) is a section of my grandfather’s church. I like the fact that although the setting is in a church, there is a lack of religious symbolism etc. to indicate this. There is a strong sense of my grandparents’ history in this church, which my sister and I are drawn to.

2. How and when did you first become interested in creating art?

My earliest memories include drawing, so I am not sure exactly how or where my interest came from. Painting was a natural progression once I got older and I am constanly trying to get better and improve through education.

4. What do you think of the art scene in Mississauga? Where do you see it heading in the next ten years?

I think Mississauga is building a wonderful art culture in it’s own right and will only get better in the next ten years. The quality of art education, and overall sense of community will be even stronger, and inspire future generations of artists. The current foundation is so strong and vibrant that it can only get better! I was really impressed with the other artists in the show and was honoured to be on the gallery wall among them. The VAM show is clearly impressive and a good indicator of where art in Mississauga is currently.

4. What advice would you give young people who want to become artists?

I should probably practice what I preach! However the best advice is to keep a sketchbook and to keep producing art, no matter what! Always strive for more, and be inspired by art, whether it is in a history book or at a  local gallery. There is always something to learn!

5. What do you have lined up after the VAM Juried Show? For people interested in finding more of your artwork, do you have a website, blog, Twitter account or gallery?

I am currently attempting to build a portfolio of finished works so that I can hopefully exhibit more paintings in the future. I will continue taking part time art classes and hope to improve my skills so that I can have paintings to post online.

See Jacqueline James’ Untitled at the Art Gallery of Mississauga in the VAM 33rd Annual Juried Show until February 26th.

Voting for People’s Choice Award ongoing until February 26th. Ballots available at Gallery reception.

Leave a Reply

