Elizabeth Elkin, Red Wall

Elizabeth Elkin, Red Wall, oil on canvas, 122 x 61 cm, $2500

1. Tell us about the artwork you have in the VAM 2011 Juried Show.

It took about 3 weeks to finish this painting. When I started to paint, I did a very good realistic drawing. But then the more I painted, the more my drawing started to disappear under the oil paint, until finally I finished with a very abstract painting. The most difficult part during the whole process was to balance the colour from the beginning to the end.

I’m very pleased with the result.

2. How and when did you first become interested in creating art?

I started becoming interested about art from my childhood, when I was probably about 6 years old, and thanks to my Dad who introduce me to the great masters in the Fine Art Museums.

3. What do you think of the art scene in Mississauga? Where do you see it heading in the next ten years?

Wish to have more art events and galleries.

4. What advice would you give young people who want to become artists?

Create what you really like it and never stop to learn new things.

5. What do you have lined up after the VAM Juried Show? For people interested in finding more of your artwork, do you have a website, blog, Twitter account or gallery?

I have my website www.trueart.ca. My artist studio in Oakville is open for everybody who wants to see more my work. Some galleries display my work too and I’m going to participate in The Art Project Toronto in March www.theartistprojecttoronto.com.
 

 

 

 

See Elizabeth Elkin’s Red Wall in Visual Arts Mississauga 33rd Annual Juried Show of Fine Arts at the Art Gallery of Mississauga until February 26th.

  

 Voting for People’s Choice Award ongoing until February 26th. Ballots available at Gallery reception.

 

Leave a Reply

