Andrea Stajan-Ferkul, Chantilly Lace

Andrea Stajan-Ferkul, Chantilly Lace, acrylic/mixed media, 152.4 x 76.2 cm, $3400

In last year’s VAM show, Andrea Stajan-Ferkul won the Art Gallery of Mississauga People’s Choice Award for A Beautiful Mess.

1. Tell us about the artwork you have in the VAM 2011 Juried Show.

What I find intriguing is how a painting often takes on a life of its own and leads me into an entirely different direction than was originally planned.  This is the beauty in painting…it just takes you places. Although my work is not exclusive to fashion, it is a recurring theme in my subject matter.  As with Chantilly Lace, I love the idea of softening a chaotic background with something refined and elegant. The lace adds texture and dimension, tempting the viewer to come forward and touch it.

2. How and when did you first become interested in creating art?

Always having had a creative awareness, I attended Sheridan College where I completed the Interpretive Illustration program.  Upon graduating, I worked in the fashion advertising industry, where I received several years of great mentorship.  During the years of raising my family, I re-immersed myself into painting, experimented and attended workshops to further develop my skills.  I ultimately made the switch from commercial art to fine art.

3. What do you think of the art scene in Mississauga? Where do you see it heading in the next ten years?

Although it’s been around for a very long time, I hope that it continues to grow.  It would be great to see more visual art interactive with, and exposed to, the public.

4. What advice would you give young people who want to become artists?

Volunteering and networking with people in the art industry is a great way of becoming connected. I would also highly recommend that young artists familiarize themselves with the business end of the art world.

5. What do you have lined up after the VAM Juried Show? For people interested in finding more of your artwork, do you have a website, blog, Twitter account or gallery?

While my work can be found in select group exhibits and galleries, I am otherwise self-represented and work directly with my clients. (many are introduced to me through interior designers.)  My work can be seen on my website and can also be viewed in person at any time by contacting me directly. Contact info can be found on my website www.andreastajanferkul.com.  You can also request to be added to my emailing list to receive an email with any new work upon its completion.

See Andrea Stajan-Ferkul’s Chantilly Lace at the Art Gallery of Mississauga in the VAM 33rd Annual Juried Show until February 26th.

Voting for People’s Choice Award ongoing until February 26th. Ballots available at Gallery reception.

Leave a Reply

