Rena Sava, City Fusion III: Cityscape

Rena Sava, City Fusion III: Cityscape, acrylic, 61 x 92 cm, $800 

1. Tell us about the artwork you have in the VAM 2011 Juried Show.

This painting was inspired on a recent trip to London England. I tried to paint the crowds of people, the buildings and the reflections all around in the busy streets.  I painted it in about 2 weeks.

The interesting aspect of the painting appeared as I saw it on the wall in the AGM. I tried to show depth and mobility in the painting, and as I view it in the exhibit, I realized that it really did move in and out of the picture plane with great depth. Mission accomplished.

2. How and when did you first become interested in creating art?

I started creating art in High School and never stopped.

3. What do you think of the art scene in Mississauga? Where do you see it heading in the next ten years?

I think Mississauga has a vibrant art scene that I have watched come into being over the past 20 years and if it continues, will be exceptional.

4. What advice would you give young people who want to become artists?

Go for your dream. It isn’t easy, but very fulfilling.

5. What do you have lined up after the VAM Juried Show? For people interested in finding more of your artwork, do you have a website, blog, Twitter account or gallery?

Latitude 44 gallery in Toronto has a representation of my paintings and prints. I have a blog http://renasava.wordpress.com which will be up and running in another week. I have just completed a sketchbook for the Brooklyn Art Library which is on line at  http://arthouscoop.com/users.

See Rena Sava’s City Fusion III: Cityscape at the Art Gallery of Mississauga in the VAM 33rd Annual Juried Show until February 26th.

Voting for People’s Choice Award ongoing until February 26th. Ballots available at Gallery reception.

One thought on “Rena Sava, City Fusion III: Cityscape

Leave a Reply

