Patrick Lynch, Pat

Patrick Lynch, Pat, acrylic collage, 61 x 46 cm, $250

1. Tell us about the artwork you have in the VAM 2011 Juried Show.

The piece I submitted is a collage made of acrylic “skins” a technique I had read about and decided to try. This self portait took several days to complete mostly because of wait time for acrylic skins to dry and be lifted, cut and pasted. The plaid shirt was cut from a sheet of gift wrap and the flower on shirt dropped there when I was moving a plant. I decided to work it into my picture. Because I was sitting in front of a mirror, I also included a picture of myself as a reflection in the bottom left of my eye glasses.

2. How and when did you first become interested in creating art?

I became interested in art in late 1950’s. I attended OCA, but dropped out after one year. I also took a one year course at George Brown College in commercial art techniques and worked a few years as a paste up and assembly artist for a type setting firm but the pay was terrible and I now had a family to support. So I worked for better money  in the transportation industry until retiring seven years ago. Since then I have taken several courses at VAM and am trying hard to get back into painting.

3. What do you think of the art scene in Mississauga? Where do you see it heading in the next ten years?

The art scene in Mississauga has improved in leaps and bounds in the past few years with shows such as yours as a prime example.

4. What advice would you give young people who want to become artists?

I would encourage anyone to pursue fine art endeavours but remind them it is not always easy to finacially support one’s self.

5. What do you have lined up after the VAM Juried Show? For people interested in finding more of your artwork, do you have a website, blog, Twitter account or gallery?

I do not have a website but I will soon.

See Patrick Lynch’s Pat at the Art Gallery of Mississauga in the VAM 33rd Annual Juried Show until February 26th.

Voting for People’s Choice Award ongoing until February 26th. Ballots available at Gallery reception.

Leave a Reply

