Catherine Cullis, Low Tide

Catherine Cullis, Low Tide, soft pastel, 40 x 51cm, $550

1. Tell us about the artwork you have in the VAM 2011 Juried Show.

In the scene ‘Low Tide’,  I was fascinated with how lifeforms, otherwise hidden at high tide, had a chance to strut their stuff, so to speak, while the tide was out.  The most striking details, therefore, are the combination of color and texture that help bring life to the foreground area.

2. How and when did you first become interested in creating art?

My interest in art began in my teens, however, the opportunity to pursue that interest did not come til later in life. Now I spend as much time as I can on my art.

3. What do you think of the art scene in Mississauga? Where do you see it heading in the next ten years?

Visual Arts Mississauga (at Riverwood Park) offers an outstanding variety of art courses and workshops.  I have taken many of them myself and always come away inspired.

4. What advice would you give young people who want to become artists?

I would encourage would be artists of any age to surround themselves with inspiration. Whether it be art magazines, art classes, gallery visits or the company of other artists, keeping yourself in the loop is an important part of building a furture as an artist.

5. What do you have lined up after the VAM Juried Show? For people interested in finding more of your artwork, do you have a website, blog, Twitter account or gallery?

Although primarily a landscape painter in pastel, I hope to study other mediums and genres as I continue to expand my knowledge of the world of art. I am a member of Pastel Artists Canada and more of my work can be found on their website: http://pastelartists.ca

See Catherine Cullis’ Low Tide at the Art Gallery of Mississauga in the VAM 33rd Annual Juried Show of Fine Arts until February 26.

Voting for People’s Choice Award ongoing until February 26. Ballots available at Gallery Reception.

Leave a Reply

