Meet the artist behind our new website!

Corey Gibbs (Photo by Miguel Jacob)

We hope you all love the new AGM website as much as we do! We had so much fun working with our website designer Corey Gibbs to give you all an amazing website that showcases all the AGM has to offer. Anyway, we were all impressed with this artist’s talent (and patience in teaching us how to play around with his site without wrecking it), and we wanted you all to meet him as well. So AGM friends, meet Corey Gibbs:

10 Questions with Corey Gibbs

1. Tell us a bit about yourself.

I grew up in Hamilton, ON and moved to Australia for a few years after high school, which is where I developed my passion for Graphic Design. When my Visa expired I decided it would be a good idea to come home and study formally at George Brown College in Toronto. I’ve just recently graduated from their Graphic Design Advanced Diploma program.

2. As an artist, where do you draw your inspiration from?

I draw most inspiration from the people I surround myself with. The majority of my friends are artists, musicians, designers…creative and talented people inspire me the most.

3. How’d you get into website design?

I’ve always been interested in Web Design (and the amount of jobs you can get doing it), but I never really  got too into it until I took a few courses at school. Web Design isn’t my main focus but I feel it’s an essential skill to have to be a well rounded Graphic Designer.

4. We’ve received some great comments on the clean, “spiffy” look of the new AGM website. What inspired you to go for that particular look for the AGM?

I just wanted to keep it clean and simple. It’s an informative website, so organization is key. I think the end user will have an easy time navigating  around this site.

5. You’ve mentioned that you have a strong background in graphic design, particularly in designing CD cover art and event posters for concerts. What kind of music do you like? Any particular CD covers or concert posters that you absolutely love (whether or not you’ve designed it yourself) and why?

My music tastes change on a weekly basis. I think it’s important to have an open mind when listening to music. One day I could be listening to Fleetwood Mac, and the next it’ll be Tupac, I guess it just depends on my mood. My favourite album art, and overall branding for a musical artist would have to be from Daft Punk’s 2007 Alive Tour. I’ve always found all of their visuals so exciting and cutting-edge, whether it be album covers, merchandise, music videos, and most importantly, their live performance.

6. How’d you get interested in graphic design? Did anyone or any experience in particular encourage you to pursue it as a career?

I’ve always been into pop culture (music, art, fashion) and I think there is a very strong marriage between Graphic Design and pop culture. Skateboarding was also a very big influence on me, but as I got older (and a little less flexible) I started becoming more excited by the graphics on the skateboards and the ad campaigns in the skateboard magazines. So it was a pretty natural transition into becoming a professional Graphic Designer.

7. What’s your most memorable design experience? Why?

Being given the opportunity to design my own clothing label was a great experience for me. I enjoyed the freedom of being able to design everything the way I wanted it, as opposed to the way a client wants it. If you’d like to check it out you can see it at http://www.cultdelaissezfaire.com

8. What do you think of the AGM and the Mississauga art scene? What do you like best about the AGM?

When I first came to the AGM, I was floored by the caliber of work that was there (ie. Cal Lane’s Sweet Crude). I also think the gallery itself is beautiful. The exhibits that you choose are so fresh and exciting, and I love that you’re not afraid to display pieces that could be viewed as controversial to some people (ie. Andrew Morrow’s Something Went Wrong in the Bedroom). Your staff does a wonderful job and the gallery is a must-see for any art lovers in the GTA.

9. How do you find the Toronto art scene?

The Toronto art scene is great, there are so many creative individuals here and everyone seems to be doing something different, which keeps it interesting. I began designing in Sydney, Australia, and the art scene there was pretty cut-throat. I find in Toronto people are much more open and willing to embrace what you have to offer.

10. Any upcoming projects?

I’m currently just finishing up my new portfolio website which can be seen at http://www.coreygibbs.com. After that I will be working on some record covers and a possible clothing line from musical group, Azari & III.

Leave a Reply

